Overview Features Reviews

2017 Edition KICKR Power Trainer

$1,199.99
2017 Edition KICKR Power Trainer
2017 Edition KICKR Power Trainer

The best smart bike trainer just got better.


Est Ship Date 2/1

SKU# WFBKTR117

$1,199.99
  • Free Shipping on Orders Over $20
  • 30 Day, No Hassle Returns
  • 1 Year Limited Warranty

Reviews

Product Overview

Updated in 2017, the Wahoo KICKR indoor bike trainer is more compatible than ever! The KICKR now fully supports 12x142 and 12x148 thru axle spacing making it even easier to fit all of your bikes onto the KICKR. Simply take the rear wheel off your bike and connect to the Wahoo KICKR for accurate power measurement, controlled resistance, open third-party software options, and the smoothest indoor riding on the market. Pain cave, meet your new best friend.

BONUS! When you register your KICKR in the Wahoo Fitness app, you'll receive these awesome offers from our partners:

PLEASE NOTE: The KICKR only ships to select countries. Signature required for delivery of all KICKR shipments.

Features

NEW! Enhanced Thru Axle Compatibility
The new KICKR features 12x142 and 12x148 thru axle compatibility in addition to standard 130/135mm quick release.
NEW! Increased Disc Brake Clearance
An update to the main mast ensures clearance for flat mount and disk brake equipped bikes.
NEW! Compatible with the KICKR CLIMB (coming soon!)
KICKR CLIMB was designed jointly with the new KICKR to deliver the best possible riding experience.
+/- 2% Power Accuracy
Enhanced power accuracy to provide accurate power measurement and generate up to 2000W.
20% Maximum Grade
Maximum percent grade adjusts to simulate up to a 20 degree incline.
LED Indicator Lights
Visual confirmation that KICKR is powered, connected and transmitting via Bluetooth Smart and / or ANT+
ANT+, Bluetooth Smart, and ANT+ FE-C Connectivity
ANT+ and Bluetooth Smart capabilities allow it to connect to both smartphones and GPS devices simultaneous or separately. An ANT+ FE-C connection allows the KICKR to be controlled from any FE-C enabled device or application, including products like Garmin bike computers.
Professional Grade Durability
Robust steel construction ensures the KICKR stays in place while you crank out the watts and stands up to years of heavy use.
Controlled resistance
When connected to your device, it automatically sets your resistance via your favorite app or software
Realistic ride feel
The KICKR flywheel is innovative and proven technology emulates the power and inertia experienced during outdoor riding. It provides the most realistic ride feel especially when using virtual riding/training platforms like Zwift and Trainer Road.
Measures speed, distance, power, and cadence
Get all your vital cycling metrics on your indoor ride. Cadence only available when paired with a Wahoo RPM Cadence Sensor that is included.
Third Party App Compatibility
Works with popular training apps such as Zwift and TrainerRoad. For more details on which apps are compatible with the KICKR, download our in-depth KICKR app comparison chart.
Third Party Power Meter Support
Compatible with a third party power meter.
Click here for KICKR instructions

Specs

Part Number: WFBKTR117
Dimensions (legs open): 21" x 28" (54 cm x 71 cm)
Dimensions (legs closed): 21" x 9" (54 cm x 23 cm)
Weight: 47 lbs
Rear Wheel Size: 24" RD / 24" MTB / 650c RD / 26" MTB / 700c RD / 650b MTB / 29" MTB
Hub Types: 130/135mm QR, 12x142, and 12x148 Thru Axle
Drivetrain:

  • Out of Box: Standard 11 Speed Spacing (11-26)
  • Requires Purchase/Installation of New Cassette: 8/9/10 Speed SRAM/Shimano

Cadence: RPM Cadence Sensor included
Front Wheel Block: Not needed
Resistance Type: Electromagnetic
Accuracy: + / - 2%
Wireless Software Updates: Yes
3rd Party Power Meter Support: Yes
Connectivity: ANT+, ANT+ FE-C, and Bluetooth Smart
Devices: iOS, Android, PC (Mac and Windows)
Max User Weight: 250 lbs
Power Requirements: 100-240V~1.5A 50-60 Hz
Flywheel Weight: 12.5 lbs
Belt Type: Gates Carbon Drive
Maximum Simulated Grade: 20%
Maximum Power Output: 2000 Watts
Noise Level: 61 dB

2017 Edition KICKR Power Trainer is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 123.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Now, I look forward to getting on my trainer, I have tried other trainers and rollers and would lose focus after juts 30 minutes, I use my KICKR with sufferfest and the workouts are vey good..
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Decent product but Wahoo service is poor Bought the Wahoo Kickr from Sigma Sports in London - these guys are great. Got it as i have the Bolt, Tickr and Wahoo sensors. The unit is solid and appears to be well built. It works very well in my Zwift setup when im using my road bike with quick release skewers. The problem with the unit is that it is shipped with a 12x142 thru axle adapter (used on my partners bike) that isn't up to the job - resulting in grinding between it and the cassette locking nut. Wahoo are well aware of the issue and by their own admission, the part is "machined at the edge of tolerance" and fails in some cases. Wahoo have an updated adapter but its not shipped with the unit. Having raised a ticket with Wahoo it took 2 days before a response (btw ive been told their queue system moves the case to the bottom of the list each time its updated so you need to leave it and not chase them for a response). They agreed to ship out the new adapter but that was a week ago and i still haven't received the part - very poor and i'm close to returning the who unit. Shame really as i think the Kickr is a great product but at this price the service is just not good enough. I dont like leaving negative reviews but given Wahoo closed my case i can't give feedback any other way.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great upgrade from the Snap I bought this to replace my 2yr old Kickr Snap. It was easy to set up - I had to replace the cassette which took 5mins, and I was up and running in not long after. It’s much easier than the Snap -no more checking tire pressure, no more adjusting the roller tension and no more replacing worn out tires. I have not had any connection issues with my PC - which was an intermittent issue with the Snap. My power output doesn’t have the spikes that I was getting wth the Snap. The Snap was a great smart trainer - I’ve put thousands of ‘miles’ on it, but I would definitely recommend the upgrade to the 2017 Kickr Snap.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very realistic ride experience Coupled with an app like Zwift, the Kickr provides an excellent simulation of grade changes and even more subtle effects like drafting. The power metering seems to be very accurate as well. The flywheel spins up and spins down fairly close to real world riding, and after doing a spindown sync with Zwift my avatar seems to slow to a stop correctly after I stop pedaling (the flywheel continues spinning down for a while once the avatar stops).
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will improve your game Setting this up and syncing with Zwift was a breeze....U tube videos helpful..,,,the power meter feature makes this package rock
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Indoor Trainer for Serious Athletes Trainers have come a long way and I’ve been on turbo trainers, computrainers, and rollers and this fills a great niche for indoor training. Though pricey, if perceived through the lens of what you’d spend on computrainer classes, it does pay for itself if you use it consistently to meet your training goals. The road like feel is very consistent and the volume is wonderfully low and doesn’t overpower your laptop speakers. The power generation and the bandwidth is smooth and the coasting feel is helpful for group rides like Zwift to maintain consistent spinning efforts relative to power output. Pairs well to Zwift, Sufferfest, and Trainer Road and ERG modes in all feel formidable for even the toughest workouts requiring high power output.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from pain cave review I was excited to get the pain cave for xmas and have spent the last three weeks learning some things the hard way. Hopefully I can save somebody the same trouble. To start, the Kickr cassette didn't fit my 10 speed campagnolo drivetrain so only about 1/2 of my gears were usable. I ordered the campy free hub adapter from wahoo, but when it came i discovered it didn't fit the 2017 Kickr, only the 2016 and 2014 models. Wahoo confirmed this and recommended I get the Ambrosio campy/shimano spline cassette from a British shop where it's backordered. Most other stores were also out of stock and nobody in the USA seems to have this. Finally found a shop in Yorkshire that's sending me the part. I think once I get it set up properly it will be great. The unit's well made and sturdy and the Bluetooth works well. One thing that confused me was how to turn it off - I thought maybe it shut off automatically after a certain amount of time. I searched the manual and websites and finally had to ask the company to get the answer that you need to manually unplug it. I have the pain cave rolling desk which is very nice. Overall I'm happy but some clearer instructions from Wahoo and an explicit notice that the Campy adapter won't fit the 2017 model would've saved me a lot of frustration.
Date published: 2018-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Money well spent! Had this for a couple of months, love it. When the snow is flying outside I’m able to get a very realistic ride using Zwift. Zero problems, easy to use. Best cycling investment I’ve ever made.
Date published: 2018-01-15
  • y_2018, m_1, d_22, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_119
  • loc_en_US, sid_WFBKTR117, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wahoofitness
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 22.07ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Product Overview

Updated in 2017, the Wahoo KICKR indoor bike trainer is more compatible than ever! The KICKR now fully supports 12x142 and 12x148 thru axle spacing making it even easier to fit all of your bikes onto the KICKR. Simply take the rear wheel off your bike and connect to the Wahoo KICKR for accurate power measurement, controlled resistance, open third-party software options, and the smoothest indoor riding on the market. Pain cave, meet your new best friend.

BONUS! When you register your KICKR in the Wahoo Fitness app, you'll receive these awesome offers from our partners:

PLEASE NOTE: The KICKR only ships to select countries. Signature required for delivery of all KICKR shipments.

Features

NEW! Enhanced Thru Axle Compatibility
The new KICKR features 12x142 and 12x148 thru axle compatibility in addition to standard 130/135mm quick release.
NEW! Increased Disc Brake Clearance
An update to the main mast ensures clearance for flat mount and disk brake equipped bikes.
NEW! Compatible with the KICKR CLIMB (coming soon!)
KICKR CLIMB was designed jointly with the new KICKR to deliver the best possible riding experience.
+/- 2% Power Accuracy
Enhanced power accuracy to provide accurate power measurement and generate up to 2000W.
20% Maximum Grade
Maximum percent grade adjusts to simulate up to a 20 degree incline.
LED Indicator Lights
Visual confirmation that KICKR is powered, connected and transmitting via Bluetooth Smart and / or ANT+
ANT+, Bluetooth Smart, and ANT+ FE-C Connectivity
ANT+ and Bluetooth Smart capabilities allow it to connect to both smartphones and GPS devices simultaneous or separately. An ANT+ FE-C connection allows the KICKR to be controlled from any FE-C enabled device or application, including products like Garmin bike computers.
Professional Grade Durability
Robust steel construction ensures the KICKR stays in place while you crank out the watts and stands up to years of heavy use.
Controlled resistance
When connected to your device, it automatically sets your resistance via your favorite app or software
Realistic ride feel
The KICKR flywheel is innovative and proven technology emulates the power and inertia experienced during outdoor riding. It provides the most realistic ride feel especially when using virtual riding/training platforms like Zwift and Trainer Road.
Measures speed, distance, power, and cadence
Get all your vital cycling metrics on your indoor ride. Cadence only available when paired with a Wahoo RPM Cadence Sensor that is included.
Third Party App Compatibility
Works with popular training apps such as Zwift and TrainerRoad. For more details on which apps are compatible with the KICKR, download our in-depth KICKR app comparison chart.
Third Party Power Meter Support
Compatible with a third party power meter.
Click here for KICKR instructions
For more info, see Faq

Specs

Part Number: WFBKTR117
Dimensions (legs open): 21" x 28" (54 cm x 71 cm)
Dimensions (legs closed): 21" x 9" (54 cm x 23 cm)
Weight: 47 lbs
Rear Wheel Size: 24" RD / 24" MTB / 650c RD / 26" MTB / 700c RD / 650b MTB / 29" MTB
Hub Types: 130/135mm QR, 12x142, and 12x148 Thru Axle
Drivetrain:

  • Out of Box: Standard 11 Speed Spacing (11-26)
  • Requires Purchase/Installation of New Cassette: 8/9/10 Speed SRAM/Shimano

Cadence: RPM Cadence Sensor included
Front Wheel Block: Not needed
Resistance Type: Electromagnetic
Accuracy: + / - 2%
Wireless Software Updates: Yes
3rd Party Power Meter Support: Yes
Connectivity: ANT+, ANT+ FE-C, and Bluetooth Smart
Devices: iOS, Android, PC (Mac and Windows)
Max User Weight: 250 lbs
Power Requirements: 100-240V~1.5A 50-60 Hz
Flywheel Weight: 12.5 lbs
Belt Type: Gates Carbon Drive
Maximum Simulated Grade: 20%
Maximum Power Output: 2000 Watts
Noise Level: 61 dB

Reviews